Artorius Castus

"Soft, Strong, Sweet and True…."

Posted in Uncategorized by Patrick Truax on February 8, 2008

Well, its been a couple of rough months at the Artorius ranch. Stress, illness, death, and depression have taken their toll. With the New Year, I had really hoped for a new outlook, something more positive, than the one I had last year. It hasn’t started out so well, though. But things seem a little more manageble now, certainly more so than the Great Denver Incident and the troubles back in Maryland. Those who know me and read this blog will understand the references.

Some really stressful situations ocurred at the same time and it was quite difficult. The biggest, of course, was my Dad’s surgery, which was quite frightening for all of us involved. And that basically the gist of the post-all involved. You see, I had either forgotten, nor never really learned, what family is. It’s the same everywhere, I just never got it, I guess. These last couple of months have really taught me something. When someone, a loved one, a relative, whatever, is in trouble, families and close friends gather at the hospital and pray. I went through this before, 7 years ago now, with Mom. It wasn’t the same, though. Mom’s passing was surreal, like it wasn’t really happening to me, I felt outside of myself, like it was a dream. I carry the denial to this day. But last month seeing how family and friends flocked to South Florida, called from Turkey and from all over the US, I realized how important the important things are, and how meaningless the meaningless is. Whenever there was a group of four or more, one of us would be on a cell phone, updating another family member or friend. Father Eric stopped by with prayers for health and recovery and brought another Priest with him. The familial or nuclear aspect of the process, or whatever you want to call it, is what turned the corner.

Pleas for rapid recovery and well wishes here in STL from co-workers and friends, people from Dad’s cyber bar, (Free Republic), and people who didn’t even know him were all pulling for him, and it worked! Certainly, the chest cutters at Del-Rey Medical knew their stuff. And the CCU nursing staff were 100% pros (if not a little brusque at times). I would trust them with any family member, in fact, I did!

The point of this, I suppose, is to share an enlightment, and my own thanks for Dad’s rapid recovery. Now that I see the power of worldwide thought and prayer, and to understand folks are really concerned when they ask after a loved one, it brings hope for a New Year, prayers and belief that a new outlook is obtainable, a real concerted effort to find balance again can begin.

When I think of Aunt Moe, Jeannie, Aunt Rita and Uncle Rick, and all of the phone calls to and from Aunt Pat, my own family here in STL, and the new brothers I have, coming up with a title for the post was easy-they are lyrics that describe our family..

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Patrick Truax said, on February 9, 2008 at 3:13 am

    Belated New Years Outlook..

  2. Elizabeth said, on February 9, 2008 at 3:16 am

    I trust that you will never again doubt the power of positive thinking! 🙂 Tell your dad I said “hello”, and “give em hell!” 😉

  3. Elizabeth said, on February 9, 2008 at 3:17 am

    OK, so I really DID mean to brag, but I chose to do it sort of under the radar. Except yours, obviously! 😉

  4. Patrick Truax said, on February 9, 2008 at 4:21 am

    Its Ok to brag..you are doing well..

  5. Catty Ax Lady said, on February 9, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    Lots of people get New Years epiphanies after the first or second month of the year. Never underestimate the power of prayer or family.


Leave a Reply

